The Montreux Years (CD)


Nina Simone: The Montreux Years is released as part of a brand new Montreux Jazz Festival and BMG collection series “The Montreux Years"

The collections uncover legendary performances by the world’s most iconic artists alongside rare andnever-before-released recordings from the festival’s rich 55-year history, remastered in superlative audio. Each collection is accompanied by exclusive liner notes and previously unseen photography.

Simone’s multi-faceted and radical story is laid bare on ‘Nina Simone: The Montreux Years’. From Nina’s glorious and emotional 1968 performance to her fiery and unpredictable concert in 1976, one of the festival’s most remarkable performances ever witnessed, the collection includes recordings from all ofher five legendary Montreux concerts – 1968, 1976, 1981, 1987 and 1990.

Featuring rare and previously unreleased material from Claude Nobs’ private collection, Nina Simone devotees worldwide will be thrilled by the inclusion of the powerful I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free, poignant and fearless Four Women and Simone’s hauntingly beautiful performance of Ne Me Quitte Pas.

Release date: 25th June, 2021


CD 1
1. Someone To Watch Over Me
2. Backlash Blues
3. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
4. See -Line Woman
5. Little Girl Blue
6. Don't Smoke in Bed
7. Stars
8. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
9. African Mailman
10. Four Women
11. No Woman No Cry
12. Liberian Calypso
13. Ne Me Quitte Pas
14. Montreux Blues
15. My Baby Just Cares for Me
CD 2
1. Intro
2. Go to Hell
3. Just In Time
4. When I Was AYoung Girl
5. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
6. Ne Me Quitte Pas
7. To Love Somebody
8. Backlash Blues
9. The House Of The Rising Sun
10. See -Line Woman
11. Please Read Me
12. Ain't Got No, I Got Life
13. Gin House Blues
14. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free