The Montreux Years (CD)

Brand: Etta James

Etta James: The Montreux Years is released as part of a brand new Montreux Jazz Festival and BMG collection series “The Montreux Years”

‘Etta James: The Montreux Years’ is a treasure trove of timeless classics, powerful and electrifying performances and raw, soaring vocals by one of the greatest ever female vocalists. The collection, featuring recordings from James’ Montreux Jazz Festival concertsin 1977, 1978, 1989 1990 and 1993, encapsulates and reflects Etta’s dynamic artistry and long-lasting impact.

Spanning performances From one of Etta James’ earliest successes, the infectious and endlessly elegant Something’s Got A Hold On Me, a medley that consist of At Last, Trust In Me and Sunday Kind of Love, which is a fusion of highlights from the early 60s, to the raw and emotional I’d Rather Go Blind and soulful horn-driven Tell Mama. The collection closes with Baby What You Want Me To Do, James’ homage to Jimmy Reed and the encore of her 1979 concert.

In 1975, Montreux Jazz Festival captured a significant moment of musical history – Etta James’ very first concert in Europe, performing at the festival’s 9th edition.

Release date: 25th June, 2021


CD 1
1. Breakin' Up Somebodys Home
2. I Got the Will
3. A Lover Is Forever
4. Damn Your Eyes
5. Tell Mama
6. Running and Hiding Blues
7. Somethings Got a Hold On Me
8. Beware
9. Come to Mama
10. Medley: At Last/Trust in Me/Sunday Kind of Love
11. I Sing the Blues for You
12. Baby What You Want Me to Do (Encore)
CD 2
1. Respect Yourself
2. Drown in My Own Tears
3. W-O-M-A-N
4. Dust My Broom
5. I'd Rather Go Blind
6. All the Way Down
7. Baby What Do You Want Me to Do
8. Rock Me Baby
9. Stormy Monday