Smalls Change (Meditations Upon Ageing) (LP)


Release date:May 18th, 2018

THE ROAD OF ROCK is a rocky road, and no one’s life exemplifies that more thoroughly than that of Derek Albion Smalls who celebrates his 75th birthday with a hoped-to-be triumphant return to at least one of the echelons of the rock firmament. Derek went on to acquire the cov- eted position of bass player in the legendary rock band “Spinal Tap”, from the 1984 Rockumentary “This Is Spinal Tap” Smalls makes hi return to the music world with this new record- ing. Guest artists on the album include Jeff “Skunk” Baxter (Steely Dan, Doobie Brothers) Gregg Bissonette, Larry Carlton, David Crosby, Donald Fagen (Steely Dan) Taylor Hawkins, Jim Keltner, Danny (Kootch) Kortchmar, Russ Kunkel, Michael League (Snarky Puppy), Jane Lynch (actress/singer), Steve Lukather (Toto), Judith Owen Snarky Puppy Horns Joe Satriani, Paul Shaffer (David Letterman, SNL, etc.) Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Richard Thompson, Steve Vai, Waddy Wachtel, Rick Wakeman (Yes) Phil X Dweezil Zappa.

Track Listing:

  1. Openture
  2. Rock And Roll Transplant
  3. Butt Call
  4. Smalls Change
  5. Memo To Willie
  6. It Don't Get Old
  7. Complete Faith
  8. Faith No More
  9. Gimme Some (More) Money
  10. MRI
  11. Hell Toupee
  12. Gummin' The Gash
  13. She Puts the Bitch in Obituary
  14. When Men Did Rock