Running On Empty (Remastered)


Jackson Browne’s Running On Empty is the songwriter’s biggest-selling album, certified 7x Platinum by the RIAA for sales of over seven million copies. Browne went on tour in 1977 with a remarkable collection of musicians to create an album about the road, on the road. The result was Running On Empty, a musical portrait of life on tour that’s a moving and unsparing portrait of the times. This version features newly remastered sound and a faithful reproduction of the original artwork, both overseen by Browne himself. The album includes 10 live performances recorded in 1977 between 17 August and 18 September by Browne and his band: guitarist Danny Kortchmar; David Lindley on fiddle and lap steel guitar; keyboardist Craig Doerge; bassist Leland Sklar; drummer Russ Kunkel; and background vocalists Doug Haywood and Rosemary Butler. Together, they recorded these songs in natural settings, such as a Holiday Inn hotel room, a backstage rehearsal space, on a tour bus, and on stage. The 1977 album hit #3 on the Billboard albums chart, includes the two Top Ten U.S. hits “Running On Empty” (#11) and “The Load-Out/Stay” (#20). 

Release date: 16th August, 2019

1. Running On Empty
2. The Road
3. Rosie
4. You Love the Thunder
5. Cocaine
6. Shaky Town
7. Love Needs a Heart
8. Nothing But Time
9. The Load-Out
10. Stay