Nina Simone And Her Friends (Green Vinyl)


Originally released by Bethlehem Records in 1959, Nina Simone and Her Friends was a compilation album comprised of the few remaining, unreleased tracks from the Little Girl Blue recording session plus songs recorded by two other former Bethlehem artists, the powerhouse jazz vocalist Carmen McRae and the elegant song stylist Chris Connor.

As Daphne Brooks explains in the release’s brand new essay, “Bethlehem clustered their work—tracks that had previously appeared on the label’s Girlfriends compilation—together with the younger, upstart Simone’s and essentially offered up a collection of songs that span a range of genres—folk, jazz, pop song staples, and torch song laments, plus a couple of provocative original compositions by McRae and Simone. Each track is a reminder of the clear-eyed independence, verve, and confidence of three artists whose music, taken together, brims with the majesty and the assured talents of the late 1950s women artists who led with conviction and invention as musicians and song interpreters.”

Featuring a brand new stereo mix by four-time Grammy winner Michael Graves. Includes new essay by author of Liner Notes For The Revolution, Daphne A. Brooks.

Release date: 3rd December, 2021


Nina Simone – He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands
Chris Connor – Cottage for Sale
Carmen McRae – Old Devil Moon
Nina Simone – I Loves You, Porgy
Chris Connor – Try a Little Tenderness
Carmen McRae – You Made Me Care
Nina Simone – For All We Know
Chris Connor – What Is There to Say?
Carmen McRae – Too Much in Love to Care
Nina Simone – African Mailman
Chris Connor – Good Bye
Carmen McRae – Last Time for Love