John Sebastian and Arlen Roth Explore The Spoonful Songbook (CD)


Lovin' Spoonful founder and frontman John Sebastian joins forces with legendary guitarist "Mr. Telecaster" Arlen Roth to explore the Spoonful songbook. The two artists recorded instrumental duets of Spoonful tracks like "Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind?", "Daydream", " You Didn't Have To Be So Nice", "Rain On The Roof", "Nashville Cats" and more, using just two guitars, bass and drums.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame members The Lovin' Spoonful had their roots in the Greenwich Village folk music scene of the early '60s, and are best known for the hit songs "Do You Believe In Magic", "You Didn't Have To Be So Nice", "Daydream", "Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind?" and "Summer In The City". Frontman John Sebastian is a notable songwriter whose songs have been covered by many artists, including Elvis Costello, Johnny Cash, Dolly Parton, The Evely Brothers and Tom Petty.

Guitarist Arlen Roth has been named one of the Top 100 Most Influential Guitarists of All-time by Vintage Guitar magazine and one of the Top 50 Acoustic Guitarists of All-Time by A member of the New York Blues Hall of Fame (2015), he has signature guitar models with Warren Guitars, Santa Cruz Guitars and Delaney Guitars. Throughout his career, Roth has performed and recorded with the Bee Gees, Ry Cooder, Bob Dylan, Duane Eddy, Ramblin' Jack Elliot, Pete Seeger, John Entwistle, Levon Helm, Sonny Landreth, Albert Lee, Steve Morse, Phil Ochs, Brad Paisley, John Prine, Simon and Garfunkel, Phoebe Snow, James Taylor and many more.

Release date: 24th September, 2021


Lovin' You
Darlin' Companion
Jug Band Music
Four Eyes
Rain On The Roof
Didn't Want To Have To Do It
Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind?
Nashville Cats
You Didn't Have To Be So Nice
Stories We Could Tell
Darling Be Home Soon