Core (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)


Item: 2CD

Stone Temple Pilots / Core (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)

LOS ANGELES – Stone Temple Pilots roared on to the scene 25 years ago with their raucous debut Core. A breakout success, the album peaked at #3 on the Billboard charts, dominated radio waves with hits like “Sex Type Thing” and “Wicked Garden,” and has been certified 8x Platinum by the RIAA. The band also took home the 1994 Grammy® Award for Best Hard Rock Performance for their smash single “Plush.”

To mark the legendary album’s silver anniversary, Rhino will release two versions on September 29, which is 25 years to the day of the album’s original debut. 

2-CD CORE: DELUXE VERSION containing a newly remastered version of the original album expanded with rare b-sides and previously unreleased demos. A single disc remaster of the original album will be available as well.

Stone Temple Pilots (guitarist Dean DeLeo, bassist Robert DeLeo, drummer Eric Kretz, and vocalist Scott Weiland) debuted with Core in the fall of 1992 and by the following summer were one of the biggest rock bands on the scene, powered by exhilarating live shows and a string of now-classic songs from the album, remastered here for the very first time.

Nearly all of the music on the second disc of both versions is making its commercial debut. Of the nine demos included, four were recorded between 1987 and 1990 when the band was known as Mighty Joe Young. One of those, “Only Dying,” is an unheard song the band had planned to re-record in 1994 for The Crow Soundtrack. The idea was later scrapped after the star of the film, Brandon Lee, was killed during production. The disc continues with five unreleased demos from their original Atlantic sessions and concludes with four b-sides, including the jazzy Swing Type Version of “Sex Type Thing,” as well as two acoustic versions of “Plush”—the “Acoustic Type Version” recorded with the full band and the rarely heard “first take” that was recorded by Weiland and Dean DeLeo for MTV’s Headbanger’s Ball in 1993.

Track Listing

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

  1. “Dead & Bloated”
  2. “Sex Type Thing”
  3. “Wicked Garden”
  4. “No Memory”
  5. “Sin”
  6. “Naked Sunday”
  7. “Creep”
  8. “Piece Of Pie”
  9. “Plush”
  10. “Wet My Bed”
  11. “Crackerman”
  12. “Where The River Goes”

 Disc Two: Demos And B-sides

  1. “Only Dying” – Demo *
  2. “Wicked Garden” – Demo *
  3. “Naked Sunday” – Demo *
  4. “Where The River Goes” – Demo *
  5. “Dead & Bloated” – Demo *
  6. “Sex Type Thing” – Demo *
  7. “Sin” – Demo *
  8. “Creep” – Demo *
  9. “Plush” – Demo *
  10. “Sex Type Thing” – Swing Type Version
  11. “Plush” – Acoustic Type Version
  12. “Creep” – New Album Version
  13. “Plush” – Acoustic from MTV Headbanger’s Ball (Take 1)