25 Years - The Chain


With 17 studio albums, and a career spanning almost 50 years, there's no denying the impact Fleetwood Mac have had on the musical world.

Check out NME's "20 Insanely Greatest Fleetwood Mac Songs", all available on The Chain, the platinum selling 4CD retrospective set of Hits & Rarities.

Go Your Own Way
The first single from Rumours, Go Your Own Way was a sign of things to come. Two months later, Rumours went to number one. The track itself is defiant - a metaphor for all the heartbreak and struggle in the group. But within the anger, there's catharsis, and a promise that next time won't be the same.

The Chain
The only track credited to all members of the Rumours-era line-up of Fleetwood Mac (Lindsey Buckingham, Mick Fleetwood, Christine Mc Vie, John McVie and Stevie Nicks), the key to The Chain lies in its simplicity. While other tracks on the album might be more sonically lush, The Chain pares things back, leaving the bass riff to carry through the melody to its final, crashing end.

Don't Stop
A happier spin on a Rumour's break-up, vocalist Christine McVie committed to looking forward, rather than backward after eight years of marriage with bass guitarist John McVie. A relentlessly positive piano riff opens the track, and a trotting drum fill urges the listener- and the singer to remember that 'it'll be better than before, yesterday's gone'.

Rhiannon was Stevie Nicks' breakthrough. Written before she joined Fleetwood Mac, the track was first featured on Fleetwood Mac's self-titled album, and soon made a single. At the time, her impassioned live performances of the track were a sight to behold, leading Mick Fleetwood to comment on Behind The Music that Stevie "is not a person that half cooks anything, so her Rhiannon in those days was like an exorcism."

The only U.S number one for the group , Dreams was written amidst a trio of break-ups that would make ABBA look like the Brady Bunch, Dreams was reportedly composed in under ten minutes. A plaintive slide guitar underpins the poignancy of lost love. "Women they will come and they will go/When the rain washes you clean you'll know".

When Stevie Nicks wrote Landslide, she was at a crossroads. Only 25, her previous group with Lindsey Buckingham - Buckingham Nicks - had been dropped by their label Polydor after only one album, and her relationship with Buckingham was strained. The track has been covered many times since - from Smashing Pumpkins to the Dixie Chicks - but the original remains the best. Nicks' cautious vocal sounds even more helpless knowing what's yet to come.

Fleetwood Mac - The Chain

Disc 1

1. Paper Doll (Box Set Version)
2. Love Shines (Box Set Version)
3. Stand Back (Live) [Unreleased]
4. Crystal
5. Isn't It Midnight (Edited Alternate Version)
6. Big Love
7. Everywhere
8. Affairs Of The Heart
9. Heart Of Stone (Box Set Version)
10. Sara
11. That's All For Everyone
12. Over My Head
13. Little Lies
14. Eyes Of The World
15. Oh Diane
16. In The Back Of My Mind
17. Make Me A Mask (Box Set Version)

Disc 2

1. Save Me
2. Goodbye Angel (Box Set Version)
3. Silver Springs (B-Side)
4. What Makes You Think You're The One (Remastered LP Version)
5. Think About Me
6. Gypsy (Alternate Unreleased Version)
7. You Make Loving Fun
8. Second Hand News (Alternate Mix)
9. Love In Store (Alternate Mix)
10. The Chain (Alternate Mix)
11. Teen Beat (Box Set Version)
12. Dreams (Alternate Mix)
13. Only Over You
14. I'm So Afraid (Edited Live Version)
15. Love Is Dangerous
16. Gold Dust Woman (Alternate Mix)
17. Not That Funny (Live) [Unreleased]

Disc 3

1. Warm Ways
2. Say You Love Me
3. Don't Stop
4. Rhiannon
5. Walk A Thin Line
6. Storms
7. Go Your Own Way
8. Sisters Of The Moon
9. Monday Morning
10. Landslide
11. Hypnotized
12. Lay It All Down (Unreleased Alternate Version)
13. Angel (Alternate Mix)
14. Beautiful Child (Alternate Mix)
15. Brown Eyes
16. Save Me A Place
17. Tusk
18. Never Going Back Again
19. Songbird

Disc 4

1. I Believe My Time Ain't Long
2. Need Your Love So Bad (Box Set Version)
3. Rattlesnake Shake
4. Oh Well [Part 1]
5. Stop Messin' Around (Box Set Version)
6. Green Manalishi
7. Albatross (Single Version)
8. Man Of The World (Single Version)
9. Love That Burns
10. Black Magic Woman (Single Version)
11. Watch Out (Take2-Complete Master Version/Remix))
12. String-A-Long (Unreleased)
13. Station Man
14. Did You Ever Love Me
15. Sentimental Lady
16. Come A Little Bit Closer
17. Heroes Are Hard To Find
18. Trinity (Previously Unreleased Version)
19. Why