Sold Out

Across The Barrier Of Sound: Postscript (Vinyl)


This product is sold out

The final recordings from the last Game Theory line-up featuring Michael Quercio (The Three O’Clock). • LP contains 14 commercially unissued tracks (one previously included on a fan club only release). • CD/Digital adds 10 more previously unissued tracks. • The last recordings made by Game Theory. • Packaging contains photos, liner notes & remembrances from members of Wilco and Guided By Voices Throughout the 1980s, the California based Game Theory was one of the most original (and critically acclaimed) indie-rock bands. Their blend of ’60s and ’70s pop influences such as Todd Rundgren and Big Star coupled with a post-punk energy led to a string of diverse albums—nearly all produced by Mitch Easter of Let’s Active.

For the past several years, Omnivore has painstakingly reissued each and every one of their original albums with the addition of a slew of unreleased bonus tracks. Their final album, 1988’s Two Steps From The Middle Ages was reissued in June 2017. That appeared to be the final chapter of their story, or was it?

Hardcore Game Theory fans still talk about the band’s final line-up that toured the West Coast, but never released an album. Circa 1989–90, the band was rejuvenated with leader Scott Miller being joined by the legendary Michael Quercio from The Three O’Clock (who had recently broken up). Other interesting line-up changes included longtime Game Theory drummer Gil Ray moving over to guitar and keyboards, while Scott Miller’s former Alternate Learning bandmate (the original template of Game Theory) Jozef Becker, formerly of True West and Thin White Rope, joined as the drummer. Jozef is the brother of Game Theory’s original keyboardist, Nan Becker. Across The Barrier Of Sound: PostScript is the album that might have been at the time.

Release date: 20th March, 2020

Track listing

All My Loving (Home Recording)
My Free Ride
Water (Remix)
Go Back To Sleep Little Susie (Aerodeliria)
Needle In The Camel's Eye (Home Recording)
Forget All About It (Home Recording)
Idiot Son
Take Me Down (To Halloo)
Even You (Home Demo)
The Second Grade Applauds (Home Demo)
The Door Into Summer (Live)
Treat It Like My Own
Laurel Canyon (Reprise) [Home Demo]
Jimmy Still Comes Around (Home Demo)
Rose Of Sharon (Remix)
Back Of A Car (Radio Session)
The Come On (Home Demo)
A Day In Erotica (Home Recording)
Some Grand Vision (Home Demo)
Slit My Wrists (Hone Demo)
Idiot Son (Home Demo)
Sword Swallower (Live)
Inverness (Home Demo)