Sold Out

Our New Orleans (Vinyl)


This product is sold out

A remastered, expanded edition of the highly acclaimed 2005 record ‘Our New Orleans’

The two-LP set, also available then digitally, includes five previously unreleased tracks: “Do You Know What It Means,” by Davell Crawford; “Let's Work Together,” by Buckwheat Zydeco and Ry Cooder; “Crescent City Serenade,” by Dr. Michael White; “Walking By the River,” by Dr. John; and “Do You Know What It Means,” by The Wardell Quezergue Orchestra featuring Donald Harrison.

For ‘Our New Orleans’, many of the Crescent City’s best-known musicians recorded songs that are integral to their lives and that express their feelings about the city and the trauma of Katrina.

Liner notes by Nick Spitzer, host of public radio’s New Orleans–based American Routes, as did Pulitzer Prize–winning author Richard Ford.

Other producers who made contributions include Mark Bingham, Ry Cooder, Joel and Adam Dorn, Steve Epstein, Joe Henry, Doug Petty, Matt Sakakeeny, and Hal Willner.

The $1.5 million raised from the 2005 release went toward providing housing in partnership with low-income musicians and others through the New Orleans Habitat Musicians’ Village, a concept that was developed by New Orleans Area Habitat for Humanity, working with Branford Marsalis and Harry Connick Jr.


1. Yes We Can Can
2. World I Never Made
3. Back Water Blues
4. Gather by the River
5. Cryin' in the Streets
6. Canal Street Blues
7. Brother John Is Gone / Herc-Jolly-John
8. When the Saints Go Marching In
9. My Feet Can't Fail Me Now
10. Tou' les jours c'est pas la même
11. L'ouragon
12. Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans
13. Prayer for New Orleans
14. What a Wonderful World
15. Tipitina and Me
16. Louisiana 1927