Waiting For The Sun (2CD)

Brand: The Doors

The Doors released their third studio album, Waiting For The Sun, in July 1968. It was the band’s third platinum album in less than two years, and the first to top the album chart. Since its debut, the album has sold millions of copies around the globe and contributed to the Doors’ legendary canon with classics like The Unknown Soldier, Five To One and the #1 smash, Hello, I Love You.

This release features a version of the album’s original stereo mix newly remastered from the original master tapes by Bruce Botnick, the Doors’ long-time engineer/mixer. The set also includes a second disc of 14 completely unreleased tracks: nine recently discovered “rough mixes” from the album recording sessions and five live songs from a 1968 Copenhagen show.

Botnick’s newly remastered stereo mix of Waiting For The Sun adds new sonic dimensions to songs like The Unknown Soldier and Spanish Caravan, but that wasn’t his only contribution to the project. While going through his archive, he uncovered a cache of rough mixes from the sessions that hadn’t been played in 50 years.

Track listing
Disc One
1. Hello, I Love You
2. Love Street
3. Not To Touch The Earth
4. Summer’s Almost Gone
5. Wintertime Love
6. The Unknown Soldier
7. Spanish Caravan
8. My Wild Love
9. We Could Be So Good Together
10. Yes, The River Knows
11. Five To One
Disc Two (All Tracks Previously Unreleased)
Rough Mixes
1. Hello, I Love You
2. Summer’s Almost Gone
3. Yes, The River Knows
4. Spanish Caravan
5. Love Street
6. Wintertime Love
7. Not To Touch The Earth
8. Five To One
9. My Wild Love
Live In Copenhagen
10. The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)
11. Hello, I Love You
12. Back Door Man
13. Five To One
14. The Unknown Soldier