Suite: April 2020 (Vinyl)


While sheltering at home with his family in the Netherlands during the COVID-19 pandemic this spring, pianist and composer Brad Mehldau wrote twelve new songs about what he was experiencing; he was able to record them safely in an Amsterdam studio, together with interpretations of three tunes that mean a great deal to him personally. The resulting solo album, Suite: April 2020, was first made available in June as a limited-edition deluxe 180-gram vinyl LP and also digitally. One thousand numbered and signed copies were available for $100 from the Nonesuch Store, Bandcamp, and Discogs; a minimum of $90 from each sale will be donated to the Jazz Foundation of America’s COVID-19 Musician’s Emergency Fund (after distribution fees). Now the standard vinyl edition is available, and a portion of their sales also will benefit JFA’s Fund.

Release date: 18th September, 2020


1. I. waking up
2. II. stepping outside
3. III. keeping distance
4. IV. stopping, listening: hearing
5. V. remembering before all this
6. VI. uncertainty
7. VII. – the day moves by –
8. VIII. yearning
9. IX. waiting
10. X. in the kitchen
11. XI. family harmony
12. XII. lullaby
13. Don’t Let It Bring You Down
14. New York State of Mind
15. Look for the Silver Lining