Giant Steps (60th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (Vinyl)


John Coltrane’s Giant Steps – the influential jazz saxophonist’s first album with Atlantic Records – continues to astound and inspire listeners 60 years after its release. Consistently lauded in music histories, Giant Steps was inducted into the Grammy® Hall of Fame in 2001 and went gold in 2018. To celebrate this seminal album’s six-decade anniversary, Rhino has remastered Giant Steps and all 28 of its surviving sessions outtakes for two new collections. A trailer for the new release is available here. (LINK).

GIANT STEPS: 60th ANNIVERSARY DELUXE EDITION will be available on September 18 as a 180-gram double-LP set and as a double-CD set. Both versions include the newly remastered version of the original album plus eight alternate takes. The recordings come packaged in a replica of the original sleeve and labels used for the album’s first stereo pressing, and the packages, each with a booklet, include photos, never-before-seen images of Atlantic Records ephemera, original liner notes, and new liner notes written by Grammy®-winning music historian, Ashley Kahn. As a special bonus, fans who order the 2-LP set from will receive a limited edition 7-inch vinyl single disc featuring alternate takes of “Giant Steps” and “Naima.”

Release date: 18th September, 2020

LP and CD Track Listing:

Side One / CD 1
1. “Giant Steps”
2. “Cousin Mary”
3. “Countdown”
4. “Spiral”

Side Two / CD 1
1. “Syeeda’s Song Flute”
2. “Naima”
3. “Mr. P.C.”

Side Three / CD 2
1. “Giant Steps” (Alternate, Take 1, Incomplete)
2. “Naima” (Alternate Take)
3. “Like Sonny” (Alternate Take)
4. “Countdown” (Alternate Take)

Side Four / CD 2
1. “Syeeda’s Song Flute” (Alternate Take)
2. “Cousin Mary” (Alternate Take)
3. “Giant Steps” (Alternate Version Two False Start)
4. “Giant Steps” (Alternate Take)