Sturgill Simpson has announced a new album dubbed Sound & Fury. The country singer-songwriter’s follow-up to 2016’s Grammy winning A Sailor’s Guide to Earth comes paired with a Netflix anime film of the same name. Each track on the effort will soundtrack a different segment of the film, which is based on a story Simpson wrote entitled, you guessed it, “Sound & Fury”. “We went in without any preconceived notions and came out with a really sleazy, steamy rock n roll record,” Simpson said in a press statement. “It’s definitely my most psychedelic. And also my heaviest. I had this idea that it’d be really cool to animate some of these songs, and we ended up with a futuristic, dystopian, post-apocalyptic, samurai film.” Sound & Fury the film was written and directed by Kamikaza Douga’s Jumpei Mizusaki(Batman Ninja), with character designs from Afro Samurai creator Takashi Okazaki. Also pitching in on direction were Masaru Matsumoto (Starship Troopers: Traitors of Mars), Michael Arias (The Animatrix), Henry Thurlow and Arthell Isom of D’Art Shtajio, and Koji Morimoto (Akira). 

Release date: September 27th, 2019

Sound & Fury Tracklisting
1. Ronin
2. Remember To Breathe
3. Sing Along
4. A Good Look
5. Make Art Not Friends
6. Best Clockmaker On Mars
7. All Said And Done
8. Last Man Standing
9. Mercury In Retrograde
10. Fastest Horse In Town